Edusquad - Current Affairs | Latest Jobs | Goverment Jobs | Sarkari Naukri |

Edusquad is an education platform that provides high quality educational videos and study material for various exams like UPSC, PPSC, SSC etc.

Indian Defence


                       Indian army

The Indian army is organised into six commands-
Western and
South Western, army training command, each under a General Officer Commanding- in chief of the rank of Lieutenant General. The Commands are divided into areas and sub- areas. An area is commanded by a General Officer commanding of the rank of a Major General and a sub- area by a Brigadier. The Supreme Command of India's armed forces is vested in the President of India.

          India's Nuke Command set-up

The government of India has set up a Nuclear Command Authority (NCA) and a Strategic Forces Command (SFC) on January 4, 2003 for managing India's nuclear arsenal. The NCA has two bodies

political council headed by prime minister, and 

An executive council headed by National Security Advisor. 

Only the political council can give the green signal to push nuclear button on the advice of the executive council. The final decision has to be taken by PM in his individual capacity, based on military advice.

                Border security force

It is a paramilitary force whose function is guard the frontiers in peace time and assist the Government in the maintenance of internal security. It was formed in December 1965.

                        Territorial army

It was organised in 1949 as a second line of defence. It is a Citizens Army and recruits able- bodied persons between the ages of 18 and 35. The Territorial army provides an opportunity to the citizens to receive part time military training and render assistance during emergency. It has units of Armoured Corps, Artillery, Engineers, signals Infantry, Medical Corps etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment