Edusquad - Current Affairs | Latest Jobs | Goverment Jobs | Sarkari Naukri |

Edusquad is an education platform that provides high quality educational videos and study material for various exams like UPSC, PPSC, SSC etc.

International Court of justice

International court of justice

It is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. The judges of the court are elected by the General Assembly along with the security council for a nine year term. The court consists of 15 judges. All the members states which are parties to a dispute have to comply with its decision. It's jurisdiction covers legal dispute brought before it by nations. it hands down advisory opinion at the request of the General Assembly, the security or other bodies or agencies of the United Nations.

Established in 1945 by the UN Charter, the court began work in 1946 as the successor to the Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Statute of the International Court of Justice, similar to that of its predecessor, is the main constitutional document constituting and regulating the court.

No two judges may be nationals of the same country. According to Article 9, the membership of the court is supposed to represent the "main forms of civilization and of the principal legal systems of the world”.

The ICJ is vested with the power to make its own rules. Court procedure is set out in the Rules of Court of the International Court of Justice 1978 (as amended on 29 September 2005).

No comments:

Post a Comment